Chapter 8 completed: The Monster is born

42,512 words. Past the halfway mark. I’ve now been working on this novel for a year. I remember the incredibly unprepared state of mind I was in when I commenced. I had no idea how to start writing a novel, but reasoned it must involve writing some words, so I thought I would start writing some words and see what happened. Like a long ocean voyage, the commencing is all about vague expectations and excitement, but somewhere along the way it becomes more a matter of discipline.

Chapter 8 functions as a hinge in the story; a definite change in direction; the end of the upward and the start of the downward. For the past 12 months my shorthand for this chapter has been: “The Monster is Born”, and that, I think, is what ended up happening. He’s out of the bag now, and can only become more monstrous.

Chapter 8 also provides the long-awaited reveal about Viktor and Alexis’ distant past, and with it, by far the longest scene in the story thus far. A two thousand eight hundred-word scene of dialog. This was probably the most difficult scene I’ve written so far and I revised it and revised it, but I think it reads OK.

Chapters 9 and 10 are reasonably-well plotted. The end of chapter 10 will mark the end of part 2; the second third of the novel. Chapter 8 heavily featured Alexis’ aunt: Lena, who is a nurse, hence the above photo of a nurse.

Follow your dreams, unless they are nightmares. Don’t follow your nightmares.

Author: payscough

Writer, trail-walker, musician, office drone and law-abiding citizen.

Leave a Reply

