the worm

I haven’t updated for a while because there hasn’t been much to say. I’ve been at work on my novel; The Worm. As this is my first attempt at a novel it has all been a learning experience, but I can honestly say, a very enjoyable one, and right now I’m feeling positive about it.

I have completed two chapters of around four and a half thousand words each, and am perhaps halfway through a third. I have fleshed out the plan for the novel much more fully than when I actually commenced writing a few months ago. A number of plot elements have fallen into place beautifully. It feels like a quite traditional sort of story to me, but I think it will be a satisfying, if harrowing read. The world of the characters is opening out to consume my own world. Plenty of fiction writers have noted this phenomena. The way one’s characters become real; absorb so much of your attention during your day to day life, while you’re supposed to be focusing on other things, essay writing for example, or your day job.

Viktor and Eva are becoming increasingly real for me. And with Viktor I think it is a two-way street because there are a number of insights into his mind and soul that are probably drawn directly from my own mind and soul. This is a major point of difference with a novel, as opposed to a short story. This coming-alive of the characters. I have noted that it is this balance between allegory and character study that probably, at this stage, best defines the sort of story this is. When I was first planning it I was working totally in the allegory framework, designing plot elements that most satisfactorily articulated the allegorical thrust of the piece. But then you start writing and discover that these people are human beings. They suffer, and they experience joy, and they have hopes and dreams and feel these things with intensity. And it is this intensity of feeling that is intoxicating, that feels thrilling to write about. But in exploring these characters, you don’t want to lose the primacy of the allegorical idea. A balance is needed.

I am busy at work, and at uni. As always it is impossible to find the time I need to progress my writing the way I want. But I’m definitely keeping my hand in, and pretty happy with where it’s going. I’m looking at 50,000 words minimum. 12+ chapters. So I’m looking forward to hitting the milestone of completing chapter 3 and being a quarter of the way there.

Author: payscough

Writer, trail-walker, musician, office drone and law-abiding citizen.

Leave a Reply

